The Not-Being-at-Home

I love today’s Daily Prompt. I’ve been waiting for an excuse to write about my blog’s title, but always thought, “Hey, no one cares but you.” So here it is.

Last year, I read a book by Mark Z. Danielewski, House of Leaves. Interesting book, although I have to admit that it was kind of frustrating. Imagine turning the book upside down every once in a while. What’s worse, I was reading it on my laptop, so I had to turn the laptop upside down. Not an easy task if you have a very heavy laptop.

Anyway, that’s where I first read the German phrase “das Nicht-zuhause-sein”. Since I’ve always been crazy about learning German, it really caught my attention.

“Das Nicht-zuhause-sein” means “the not-being-at-home”. I was like, “THAT’S ME!”

Literally, I’m not at home. I’m in college out of town, far from family (although not that far), away from home–which is not an easy thing for a homebody like me. Although it’s been four years since I left hometown, I never get used to the idea of calling the city where I live now as my home.

I admit, I’m kind of a loner. And although I often enjoy the solitude of my own company in my room, it is hard for me to be away from my family. Being near your family always makes you feel safe and protected. And you realize that no matter what happens outside, you’ll be fine because your family will always be there for you, to cheer you up, even when they can’t make things right.

On the other hand, I’ve always wanted to go some place else, perhaps in another country. I can’t accept the idea of spending the rest of my life in the same place, doing the same thing for years. I don’t want to stay in my comfort zone and deny myself a chance to experience new things.

I want to see the world. I want to see places so different from where I come from. I want to meet new people, who speak different languages and eat different foods. I want to live in a place with different cultures and customs. If this world is a book, then I want to read every page or as many as possible.

Probably that’s why until now I haven’t made plans to settle down, at least not in the near future. There are a lot of places to see and things to do before saying, “That’s enough. This is my home now.”

One thought on “The Not-Being-at-Home

  1. I read House of Leaves as well. I persevered with it, got the hang of it, but it was not easy. At least something completely different. I also had to turn it upside down now and again.

Leave a Reply

