Happily Ever After

Daily Prompt today: “Happily ever after”.

Beautiful phrase, isn’t it? It’s so fairy tale. When I was a kid, my favorite fairy tale was Cinderella, simply because she wears blue gown and blue is my favorite color.

Now, as I get older, I realize that I don’t want to be like Cinderella. She doesn’t do anything on her own to get her “happily ever after”. She got help from fairy godmother. I believe that you can’t rely on someone else to realize your dreams. As one of my lecturer often said, “You’re the only one who can help yourself.”

Now the question is, am I living happily ever after? No. At least not yet (I don’t want to sound so pessimistic here). I know I’m happy with my life right now, but I’m still a student. I have dreams to pursue.

Anyway, I’m not even sure how can I tell that I’m living happily ever after.

I know that you’re gonna have bad times or breakups. You may get failures or rejections. You’ll have fights with someone you love–or worse, lose them. And when those things happen, you won’t be happy. You’re gonna be sad or angry. You may want to shut yourself from the world. You may want to just curl up and never get out of bed again. You will cry for days.

But I also know that there are so many reasons to be happy. Littlest things can make you happy–good food, playing with your pets, play a prank on your brother and it works (I know, I’m not a good sister), find your favorite owl brooch when you thought you’ve lost it, laugh with your friends… It doesn’t take much to be happy.

So when can you say that you’re living happily ever after? When you’re married the love of your life? When you’re at the top of your career? When you have children?

There are some things you can’t measure. I think you’re living happily ever after when you don’t regret the kind of life you choose, when you don’t wake up one morning and realize that this is not the kind of life you want and you’ve always dreamed, when you know that, despite everything, you won’t exchange your life for someone else’s.

So I think what you need to live happily ever after is the courage to live your dream.

Do I believe in happily ever after? Well, what I believe is that “happily ever after” is not an ending. It’s actually another story.

3 thoughts on “Happily Ever After

  1. “Well, what I believe is that “happily ever after” is not an ending. It’s actually another story.” What a great outlook! Did you know that according to the bible, every person has a book written about them… “You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.” (Psalm 139:16). When I read your post, it made me think of that scripture. Each one of us is walking out our life’s story. I pray that yours is a wonderful and blessed life.

    Many blessings,
    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

